🔥Black Friday · Up to 76% offLifetime deal:pay once, use it forever. The price goes up as licences sell.✓ 7-day money-back guaranteeGet lifetime access
Nutrition database · Breakfast cereals
Grits Nutrition Facts
Grits (1 cup, 257 g) has 182 calories, 4.4 g protein, 37.9 g carbohydrate and 1.2 g fat, according to USDA FoodData Central. 100 g has 71 calories. Change the serving below and the label, the summary and the full nutrient table update together.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
Opens the free label generator with this amount of grits already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
All nutrients for this serving
1 cup (257 g)
Nutrient
Per serving
% DV*
Per 100 g
Calories and macronutrients
Calories
182
71
Total fat
1.2 g
2%
0.46 g
Saturated fat
0.2 g
1%
0.07 g
Trans fat
not reported
Monounsaturated fat
0.2 g
0.06 g
Polyunsaturated fat
0.4 g
0.17 g
Cholesterol
0 mg
0%
0 mg
Sodium
5.1 mg
0%
2 mg
Total carbohydrate
37.9 g
14%
14.8 g
Dietary fiber
2.1 g
7%
0.8 g
Total sugars
0.3 g
0.12 g
Added sugars
0 g
0%
0 g
Protein
4.4 g
1.71 g
Vitamins
Vitamin D
0 mcg
0%
0 mcg
Vitamin A
0 mcg
0%
0 mcg
Vitamin C
0 mg
0%
0 mg
Vitamin E
0.08 mg
1%
0.03 mg
Vitamin K
0 mcg
0%
0 mcg
Thiamin (B1)
0.22 mg
18%
0.09 mg
Riboflavin (B2)
0.15 mg
11%
0.06 mg
Niacin (B3)
2.1 mg
13%
0.8 mg
Vitamin B6
0.12 mg
7%
0.05 mg
Folate (DFE)
98 mcg
24%
38 mcg
Vitamin B12
0 mcg
0%
0 mcg
Choline
6.7 mg
1%
2.6 mg
Minerals
Calcium
2.6 mg
0%
1 mg
Iron
1.5 mg
8%
0.57 mg
Potassium
69 mg
1%
27 mg
Magnesium
18 mg
4%
7 mg
Phosphorus
51 mg
4%
20 mg
Zinc
0.46 mg
4%
0.18 mg
Copper
0 mg
0%
0 mg
Manganese
0.1 mg
4%
0.04 mg
Selenium
8 mcg
14%
3.1 mcg
Other
Water
213.1 g
82.9 g
Caffeine
0 mg
0 mg
Alcohol
0 g
0 g
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
Serving
Weight
Calories
Total carbohydrate
Protein
Total fat
Dietary fiber
Total sugars
1 cup
257 g
182
37.9 g
4.4 g
1.2 g
2.1 g
0.3 g
1 tbsp
16 g
11
2.4 g
0.3 g
0.1 g
0.1 g
<0.1 g
100 g
100 g
71
14.8 g
1.7 g
0.5 g
0.8 g
0.1 g
How many calories are in grits?
Grits (1 cup, 257 g) has 182 calories. 100 g has 71 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 180.
One cup of plain cooked grits, about a bowl (257 g), has about 182 calories in this USDA record, and a tablespoon (16 g) about 11. Per 100 g it lists 71 calories.
How much folate is in grits?
Grits (1 cup, 257 g) has 98 mcg of folate, 24% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 38 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
How much thiamin is in grits?
Grits (1 cup, 257 g) has 0.22 mg of thiamin, 18% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 0.09 mg. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.
Grits nutrition per 100 grams
100 g of grits has 71 calories, 1.71 g protein, 14.8 g carbohydrate, 0.8 g fiber, 0.12 g sugars and 0.46 g fat.
Where the calories in grits come from
About 84% of the calories in grits come from carbohydrate, 6% from fat and 10% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
How Grits compares with other breakfast cereals
Per 100 g, compared with the other 195 breakfast cereals in this database, grits has fewer calories than 87% of them and less protein than 94%.
Grits nutrition label for Canada, the EU and the UK
The same serving of grits, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
Nutrition Facts
Valeur nutritive
Per 1 cup (257g) / pour 1 cup (257g)
Calories
180
% Daily Value* / % valeur quotidienne*
Fat / Lipides
1.2 g
2 %
Saturated / Saturés
0 g + Trans 0 g
1 %
Cholesterol / Cholestérol
0 mg
0 %
Sodium
5 mg
0 %
Carbohydrate / Glucides
38 g
14 %
Fibre / Fibres
2 g
7 %
Sugars / Sucres
0 g
0 %
Protein / Protéines
4 g
Vitamin D / Vitamine D
0 mcg
0 %
Calcium
3 mg
0 %
Iron / Fer
1 mg
8 %
Potassium
69 mg
2 %
*5% or less is a little, 15% or more is a lot
*5 % ou moins c'est peu, 15 % ou plus c'est beaucoup
Canada: bilingual table
Nutrition Declaration
Per 100g
Energy
297 kJ / 71 kcal
Fat
0.5 g
of which saturates
0.1 g
Carbohydrate
15 g
of which sugars
0.1 g
Protein
1.7 g
Salt
0.0 g
EU 1169/2011: per 100 g, kJ and kcal, salt
Nutrition Information
Typical values (1 servings per pack)
Per 100g
Per 257g
%RI*
Energy
297 kJ 71 kcal
763 kJ 182 kcal
9.1%
Fat
0 gg
1.2g
1.7%
of which saturates
0 gg
0.2g
<1%
Carbohydrate
15g
38g
15%
of which sugars
0 gg
0 gg
<1%
Fibre
0.8g
2.1g
-
Protein
1.7g
4.4g
8.8%
Salt
0 gg
0.01g
<1%
*Reference Intake of an average adult (8400 kJ / 2000 kcal).
This pack contains approximately 1 servings.
UK FIR 2014: per 100 g and per serving, %RI
Frequently asked questions about grits
What are the nutrition facts for grits per cup?+
One cup of enriched white grits cooked in water without salt (257 g) has about 182 calories, 37.9 g carbohydrate, 2.1 g fiber, 4.4 g protein, 1.2 g fat and 1.5 mg iron in this USDA record. Butter, cheese and salt add more.
How many carbs are in grits?+
Grits are mostly carbohydrate: one cup cooked (257 g) has about 37.9 g in this USDA record, with 2.1 g of fiber and almost no sugar.
How much protein is in grits?+
A little: one cup of cooked grits (257 g) has about 4.4 g of protein in this USDA record.
How much fiber is in grits?+
One cup of cooked white grits (257 g) has about 2.1 g of fiber in this USDA record, which is low; stone-ground whole grain grits have more.
How much iron is in grits?+
One cup of cooked enriched grits (257 g) has about 1.5 mg of iron in this USDA record; the iron comes mostly from enrichment.
How many calories are in grits?+
Grits (1 cup, 257 g) has 182 calories. 100 g has 71 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 180.
How many calories are in 100 g of grits?+
100 g of grits has 71 calories, 1.71 g protein, 14.8 g carbohydrate and 0.46 g fat.
How many calories are in grits, raw vs cooked?+
100 g of grits has 370 calories dry and 71 calories cooked. It takes up water as it cooks, so the same weight holds fewer calories. Weigh it in the same state as the values you use.
What is a serving of grits?+
This page defaults to 1 cup (257 g), a USDA household measure. The serving size on a packaged food label is set by the FDA reference amount (RACC) for its category, so a product label can use a different amount. The selector above shows every USDA measure for grits.
Can I use grits in a Nutrition Facts label calculation?+
Yes. Open the generator with grits added, enter the weight you use, add your other ingredients and the label is calculated from the same USDA record shown here. A label for a product you sell must reflect your actual recipe and finished serving.
Grits compared with other forms
Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:
Form
Calories
Protein
Total fat
Total carbohydrate
GritsCereals, corn grits, white, regular and quick, enriched, cooked with water, without salt
71
1.71 g
0.46 g
14.8 g
Dry GritsCereals, corn grits, white, regular and quick, enriched, dry
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 171655: "Cereals, corn grits, white, regular and quick, enriched, cooked with water, without salt". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗
Make a Nutrition Facts label with grits
Add grits and the rest of your recipe. The label, %DV and serving math are done for you. Free to start.