How many calories are in lentils?
A cup of cooked lentils (198 g) has 230 calories. 100 g has 116 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 230.
A cup of cooked lentils (198 g) has 230 calories, 17.9 g of protein, 15.6 g of fiber and 6.6 mg of iron. The numbers are USDA's for lentils boiled without salt.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
1 cup (198 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of lentils already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 230 | 116 | |
| Total fat | 0.8 g | 1% | 0.38 g |
| Saturated fat | 0.1 g | 1% | 0.05 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Monounsaturated fat | 0.1 g | 0.06 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 0.3 g | 0.18 g | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 4 mg | 0% | 2 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 39.9 g | 14% | 20.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 15.6 g | 56% | 7.9 g |
| Total sugars | 3.6 g | 1.8 g | |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Protein | 17.9 g | 9.02 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 3 mg | 3% | 1.5 mg |
| Vitamin E | 0.22 mg | 1% | 0.11 mg |
| Vitamin K | 3.4 mcg | 3% | 1.7 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.33 mg | 28% | 0.17 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.14 mg | 11% | 0.07 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 2.1 mg | 13% | 1.06 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.35 mg | 21% | 0.18 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 358 mcg | 90% | 181 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Choline | 65 mg | 12% | 32.7 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 38 mg | 3% | 19 mg |
| Iron | 6.6 mg | 37% | 3.33 mg |
| Potassium | 731 mg | 16% | 369 mg |
| Magnesium | 71 mg | 17% | 36 mg |
| Phosphorus | 356 mg | 29% | 180 mg |
| Zinc | 2.5 mg | 23% | 1.27 mg |
| Copper | 0.5 mg | 55% | 0.25 mg |
| Manganese | 0.98 mg | 43% | 0.49 mg |
| Selenium | 5.5 mcg | 10% | 2.8 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 137.9 g | 69.6 g | |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Making a label for your own product? Use our free nutrition facts label generator.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cup | 198 g | 230 | 39.9 g | 17.9 g | 0.8 g | 15.6 g | 3.6 g |
| 1 tbsp | 12.3 g | 14 | 2.5 g | 1.1 g | <0.1 g | 1 g | 0.2 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 116 | 20.1 g | 9 g | 0.4 g | 7.9 g | 1.8 g |
A cup of cooked lentils (198 g) has 230 calories. 100 g has 116 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 230.
A cup of cooked lentils (198 g) has 17.9 g protein, 36% of the 50 g Daily Value. 100 g has 9.02 g. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
A cup of cooked lentils (198 g) has 15.6 g of fiber, 56% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 7.9 g. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
A cup of cooked lentils (198 g) has 6.6 mg of iron, 37% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 3.33 mg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
A cup of cooked lentils (198 g) has 358 mcg of folate, 90% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 181 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
100 g of lentils has 116 calories, 9.02 g protein, 20.1 g carbohydrate, 7.9 g fiber, 1.8 g sugars and 0.38 g fat.
About 67% of the calories in lentils come from carbohydrate, 3% from fat and 30% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
Per 100 g, compared with the other 216 beans and legumes in this database, lentils has fewer calories than 63% of them and more protein than 54%.
Per cup cooked, lentils have more protein than most beans in the beans and legumes protein chart, and they cook in 20 to 30 minutes without soaking. Red lentils are sold split and cook faster. Per 100 g cooked, lentils have 116 calories and 181 mcg of folate.
Lentils roughly double to triple in weight as they cook. For a soup or salad, weigh them cooked and use this record, or use dry lentils for the dry weight, in the label generator; never mix the two.
The same serving of lentils, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 0.8 g | 1 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 0 g + Trans 0 g | 1 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Sodium | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 40 g | 14 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 16 g | 56 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 4 g | 4 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 18 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 38 mg | 3 % |
| Iron / Fer | 7 mg | 37 % |
| Potassium | 731 mg | 21 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 485 kJ / 116 kcal |
| Fat | 0.4 g |
| of which saturates | 0.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 20 g |
| of which sugars | 1.8 g |
| Protein | 9.0 g |
| Salt | 0.0 g |
| Per 100g | Per 198g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 485 kJ 116 kcal |
961 kJ 230 kcal |
11% |
| Fat | 0 gg | 0.8g | 1.1% |
| of which saturates | 0 gg | 0.1g | <1% |
| Carbohydrate | 20g | 40g | 15% |
| of which sugars | 1.8g | 3.6g | 4% |
| Fibre | 7.9g | 16g | - |
| Protein | 9.0g | 18g | 36% |
| Salt | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:
| Form | Calories | Protein | Total fat | Total carbohydrate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LentilsLentils, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt | 116 | 9.02 g | 0.38 g | 20.1 g |
| Dry LentilsLentils, raw | 352 | 24.6 g | 1.06 g | 63.4 g |
| Dry Red LentilsLentils, pink or red, raw | 358 | 23.9 g | 2.17 g | 63.1 g |
If you make and sell a product that contains lentils, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 172421: "Lentils, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗
Or make a lentils nutrition label from values you already have